55th Rallye Sanremo: victory to Giandomenico Basso and Mitia Dotta, Peugeot 207 Super 2000

Second place for the Skoda of the young Finn Esapekka Lappi. The French constructor obtained the Constructor's Title while the Italian Rally Championship went to Andrea Crugnola.

Sanremo, 12 October 2013 – A nice and close battle from the first to the last kilometer and a winner, Giandomenico Basso, with co-equiper Mitia Dotta, that gets a truly deserved top step of the podium of the Rallye of Sanremo for the third time in his career. A success obtained on the Peugeot 207 Super 2000 of Power Car team, that awards Peugeot with the decisive points in campaign for the Constructor Italian Rally Championship.
The second place was obtained by the Finn Esapekka Lappi, Skoda, a young talent that we will hear a lot in the future who proceeded Alessandro Perico, Peugeot 207 Super 2000, who put in a convincing race in a particularly unlucky season. A lot of twists had their impact on the final classification. The main one was Paolo Andreucci's contact at the first passage in the Colle d'Oggia. The Tuscany driver and co-equiper Anna Andreussi on the Peugeot 307 Super 2000 fielded by Peugeot Italia, were quite solidly leading the race but the driver made a mistake that cost him a huge delay. Andreucci ended the race in sixth place anyway. Another twist had Umberto Scandola as victim. The Veronese, fresh Italian Champion, had severe tyres problems in the first stage and then had to retire during the second due to the same problems that ended up in the team stopping the car due to safety reasons.
The final moment was the incident and puncture of the good Bryan Bouffier, in the final stage of the race. The French driver probably pushed a bit to hard trying a late minute recover to Giandomenico Basso that was proceeding him by 7s ahead of the last stage.
A few polemics involved some suspicious punctures in the Italian Rally Junior Championship. The victory went to Andrea Crugnola on Renault Twingo R2. A couple of punctures prevented Andrea Carella, on Twingo R2, from defending his championship lead. Crugnola also won the Renault Twingo R2 Top Trophy. The race of Sanremo named also the winner of the Citroen Racing Trophy; the winner was Alessandro Re who beat Alex Vittalini by one point. Ninth and final round for the Suzuki Rally Cup that was won by TRT La Scuderia's Alessandro Uliana. The driver from Treviso won the final race of the Suzuki Swift Sport Group N2, run at the Rally Sanremo Legend, proceeding Cars For Fun's Andrea Vineis, who won three stages. The third step of the podium went to Paolo Amorisco of Meteco Corse who confirmed to be on top of the absolute classification of the Suzuki Rally Cup 2013 Trophy.

Classifications and Results:

Final Classification 55th Rallye Sanremo: 1.Basso,G. - Dotta,M. (Peugeot 207 S2000) in 2:37'37.3; 2.Lappi,E. - Ferm, J.k. (Skoda Fabia S2000) at 1'43.0; 3.Perico,A. - Carrara,F. (Peugeot 207 S2000) at 1'47.1; 4.Bouffier,B. - Panseri,X. (Peugeot 207 S2000) at 1'52.9; 5.Albertini,S. - Scattolin,S. (Peugeot 207 S2000) at 2'10.4; 6.Andreucci,P. - Andreussi,A. (Peugeot 207 S2000) at 10'01.0; 7.Gasperetti,F. - Ferrari,F. (Renault Megane RS) at 10'35.2; 8.Vittalini,A. - Tavecchio,S. (Citroen Ds3 R3T) at 11'40.2; 9.Tassone,M. - Rosso,M. (Renault Clio R3) at 11'48.8; 10.Gryazin Vasily - Chumak,D. (Ford Fiesta S2000) at 12'26.3.

C.I.R. Absolute Classification:1.U.Scandola (Skoda Fabia S2000) 91 pt;2. P.Andreucci (Peugeot 208 S2000) 70;3. A.Perico(Peugeot 207 S2000) 59; 4.G.Basso (Peugeot 207 S2000) 42; 5. A.Nucita (Citroen DS3 R3) 41;6.A.Bosca (Renault New Clio R3)23;7.S.Campedelli (Citroen DS3 R3)16;8.A.Vittalini (Citroen DS3 R3) 21;9.I.Ferrarotti (Renault New Clio R3)16;10.M. Brunello(Ford Fiesta R2)14.

C.I.R. Constructors: 1.Peugeot 137 pt; 2. Skoda 104; 3. Citroen 47; 4. Renault 43 ; 5. Mitsubishi 36; 5. Ford 15;Subaru 11.

C.I. Junior:; 1.A.Crugnola 134; 2.A.Carella 126 pt 3. F.Andolfi 104; 4. M.Brunello 80;5.Scattolon 58;6.G.Testa 42.

Twingo R2 Top Trophy: 1. F. Andolfi 232 pt; 2. A.Crugnola 247; 3.S.Scattolon 161.

Citroen Racing Trophy:1.A.Re 185 pt; 2.A.Vittalini 18;3.A.Nucita 168;4.S.Campedelli 615;5.Andolfi 38.

All information and updates are available at www.acisportitalia.it