Paolo Andreucci and Anna Andreussi, Peugeot 208 R5 T16, win the 98th Targa Florio

Second place for the GPL Ford Fiesta R5 of Giandomenico Basso and Lorenzo Granai. Andrea Nucita third..

Campofelice di Roccella 10 May 2014 – Among the traditions of Targa Florio, one is getting more and more frequent in the recent years: that of Paolo Andreucci on the top step of the podium. The Tuscan driver managed in fact to clinch the eighth win of the race after dominating the race from the first to the last kilometer with Anna Andreussi at the notes. They took the Peugeot 208 R5 Turbo 16 to the first victory in the Italian Championship. The 98th Targa Florio, race organized by AC Palermo with the direct support of Automobile Club of Italy, ended therefore with the victory going to Paolo Andreucci, followed by Giandomenico Basso and his navigator Lorenzo Granai at the wheel of the Gpl powered Ford Fiesta R5. Basso has never given the impression to be fully in contention for the victory but in the first day he was close to the leader but then slightly slowed down in the second. His second place confirms anyway the good work done by Br technicians. Andrea Nucita was also a confirmation in this race on Peugeot 207 Super 2000. The Sicilian run a wise race managing to secure the third place as happened in the previous CIR race. Nucita got on the lower step of the podium after a long duel with Umberto Scandola. The Veronese reigning champion had to pay the toll of a wrong tires choice in the second day.

Good race also for Simone Campedelli, at the debut on the Ford Fiesta R5, and for Stefano Albertini, Peugeot 208 R2, who ended first in the Italian Rally Junior Championship. Ivan Ferrarotti, Renault New Clio R3, led the way in the Italian Production Championship as well as in the Clio R3 Production Trophy.

The victory of the Citroen Racing Trophy went – for the third time in three races – to Alex Vittalini. Andrea Crugnola, Peugeot 208 and Luca Panzani, Renault Twingo, put in a good performance too ending respectively in eleventh and twelfth absolute position.

Final Classification of the 98th Targa Florio - 1. Andreucci- Andreussi (Peugeot 208 R5 T16) in 1'4139.3; 2. Basso - Granai (Ford Fiesta R5) at 25.1 ;3. Nucita-Princiotto (Peugeot 207 S2000) at 37.7; 4 Scandola- D'Amore (Skoda Fabia S2000) at 38.2; 5. Campedelli - Bizzocchi (Ford Fiesta R5) at 3'14.6; 6. Ferrarotti - Fenoli (Renault New Clio) at 7'06.1 ; 7. Albertini - Mazzetti (Peugeot 208 R2) at 7'18.8 ; 8. Andolfi - Casalini (Renault Clio) at 7'35; 9. Vittalini-Tavecchio (Citroen DS3 R3) at 7'44.5;10.DiPalma-Cobra ( Renault New Clio) at 7'50.8.

CIR Drivers Classification: 1. Scandola 35 ;2. Basso 27; 3. Andreucci 25; 4. Nucita 22; 5. Andolfi Junior 17 ;6. Perego 16; 7. Michelini 13; 8.; Scattolon; 10. 9. Albertini 8;10 Panzani 6.

CIR Production Classification: 1.Andolfi J. 39 ; 2.Ferrarotti 30; 3.Vittalini 32 ;4.Marchioro 22

CIR Junior Classification: 1.Scattolon 38 ; 2.Panzani 30; Albertini 27 ; Carella 21; Crugnola 12