La Conca exalts the protagonists of the second round of the Italian ACI Karting Championship

Categories KZ2, KZ3 and Iame X30 made their debut at the circuit in the south of Italy. All races have been spectacular and participation was important with 180 drivers on track.

It has been a nice comeback for the Italian ACI Karting Championship to the World Circuit La Conca after four years of absence from this circuit that everybody likes a lot, particularly the 180 drivers partaking in this second race of the season. La Conca has welcomed the season debut for KZ2, KZ3 Junior, KZ3 Under, KZ3 Over, Iame X30 Junior and Senior that had great ranks and hard-fought races. Rotax Max and Naskart Trophy were at the start too.

The spectacle has been top class in all categories. In the most powerful KZ2, Giacomo Pollini (Formula K-Tm) managed to get a nice victory in Race-1 after posting the pole position and winning both qualifying heats. On the podium of the first race of KZ2 were also the new protagonist of the category Giuseppe Palomba (Intrepid-Tm), who led the race early on, and 2017 Italian Champion Marco Zanchetta (Maranello-Tm), who also put in a good performance. Among the most awaited drivers, the multiple-champion Davide Forè was at the comeback to the Italian Championship on BirelArt and claimed a great fifth place, while the other much-awaited protagonist Francesco Celenta (Praga-Tm) had an incident. Race-2 had the top 8 grid inverted and Danilo Albanese (Tony Kart-Vortex) got the lead of the race and crossed the finish line as the first, leading an excellent Luigi Musio (CRG-Tm) and Davide Forè, who experienced again the happiness of the podium straight away. Zanchetta was involved in an incident with Celenta when the two were trying to recover positions. Zanchetta had to retire, while Celenta continued and claimed P7. Among the quickest, Mirko Torsellini (KR-Iame) was fourth, the Swede Alexander Dahlberg (BirelArt-Tm) fifth and Pollini sixth. Palomba was eighth instead.


Denis De Marco (Parolin-Tm) won KZ3 Junior’s Race-1 at the end of a good sprint to the line from Angelo Liuzzi (CRG-Tm) to Denis Tuia (Intrepid-Tm). Race-2’s victory went to Edoardo Tolfo (Formula K-Tm), who ended Race-1 in P4. The second and third place went respectively to Denis Menegatti on VRK-Tm and Luigi Fazzino on VRK-Maxter.

In the first of the two finals of KZ3 Under the victory went to Alessandro Cavina (Parolin-Tm), who led Marco Pagani (CRG-Tm) and Alessio Zanotti (Maranello-Tm). Riccardo Nalon (Formula K-Tm) got the most of the grid inversion in Race-2 and won this final after ending seventh in Race-1. Behind Nalon, Tommaso Polidoro (TK-Iame) was second this time around and Cavina went again on the podium in third. Emanuele Simonetti (Tony Kart-Tm) recovered up to P4 after the bad luck of the heats.

Roberto Profico (Tony Kart-Tm) tasted victory again in KZ3 Over after being among the main protagonists of the past season. Behind Profico, Cristian Griggio (Maranello-Tm) and Pasquale Feola (DFM-Tm) rounded off the podium. The duel that characterized 2017 had enlivened Race-2: the Italian Reigning Champion Claudio Tempesti (CRG-Tm) and Profico challenged each other. Tempesti had the upper hand this time around after coming fifth in Race-1. The spectacular sprint to the line saw Tempesti pipping Profico by only 0.035s. The third place went to Feola.


The Iame X30 Trophy had 54 drivers at the start of categories Junior and Senior. The first race of Junior was won by Francesco Pulito (Top Kart-Iame), from Edoardo Ludovico Villa (TB Kart-Iame) to Francesco Miotto (Intrepid-Iame). Villa (already protagonist of the German DKM) won Race-2, while Mattia Ingolfo (KR-Iame) was second and Francesco Pio Sgobba (KR-Iame) third. Lorenzo Patrese (KR-Iame), son of former F1 driver Riccardo Patrese, had a solid weekend ending Race-1 in sixth position and Race-2 in 12th due to a penalty.

Iame X30 Senior’s Race-1 was won by Francesco Pagano (KR-Iame), who led the champion of the past two seasons Aleksander Bardas (Tony Kart-Iame) and Leonardo Caglioni (Tony Kart-Iame) in the order. Race-2 saw Luigi Coluccio (BirelArt-Iame) coming to the fore. Eighth in Race-1, Coluccio won the second final. Caglioni was again on the podium, this time in second at the end of a good comeback, while Pagano was third.

In Rotax Max, Davide Vuano (Praga-Rotax) won both finals, the first leading Andrea Zollino (Tony Kart-Rotax) and the second Massimo Santin (Praga-Rotax).

Both Naskart Finals went Moreno Di Silvestre’s ways. Di Silvestre won the first proceeding Christian Castelli and Lapo Nencetti, while in the second Final P2 went to Alessandro Brigatti and P3 to Castelli.

Complete results are available at

Specials will be aired within the ACI Sport Magazine on RAI Sport, local channels and about 50 national networks covering the whole Italian territory.

A special page with commentary, classifications and pictures will be published by the sports magazine Corriere dello Sport on Friday, June 1st.

The finals can be replayed from the official Facebook page of the Italian ACI Karting Championship: @ACIKarting.

Next round:
3rd round: June 8-10, 2018 – International Circuit Napoli, Sarno (Salerno)
Categories: 60 Mini, OK, OK-Junior, KZ2, Iame X30, Rok.

ACI Sport S.p.A.
Press Office
Facebook: @ACIKarting

In the pictures: 1) Giacomo Pollini, KZ2; 2) KZ2 podium of Race-2: Albanese between Musio (left) and Forè (right); 3) Iame X30 Senior podium of Race-2: Coluccio in the middle, Caglioni on the left and Pagano on the right.