Some surprises in qualifying heats at Sarno for the Italian ACI Karting Championship

The heats winners: in KZ2 Longhi, De Marco, Mollo, in KF Albano and Cucco, in KF Junior Lombardo in both races in 60 Mini Cecchi, Tripoli, Hauger.

The second round of the Italian ACI Karting Championship has started at the International Circuit Napoli of Sarno with 121 drivers on track in the 4 categoriesKZ2, KF, KF Junior and 60 Mini, with 11 countries represented (Italy, Lithuania, Russia, Switzerland, Great Britain, Norway, Czech Republic, Spain, Romania, Canada, United States).

The highest number of entrants, as happened last 3 May at Triscina in Sicily, was in KZ2 that had 48 drivers and in 60 Mini with 53. Several protagonists have entered the Italian Championship especially in KZ2, among which Ricciardo's works driver Mirko Torsellini, 2012 and 2013 Italian Champion Alessandro Giulietti and Alex Irlando who has been already very competitive despite being virtually at the debut in KZ2.

After the first two days dedicated to free practice, qualifying have taken place on Saturday morning and then heats highlighted some protagonists of this second round of the season marked by very hot and summer-like weather.

In KZ2, the pole position set by Riccardo Longhi (CRG-Tm) in the first group and by Lorenzo Lapina (Italcorse-Modena) in the second that was as quick and only 12 thousands slower than him. Ciro Mollo (PCR-Tm) was second in group two with a gap of 28 thousands to Longhi. The first qualifying heat saw Longhi taking a fair and square win from Federico Pezzolla (PCR-Tm), who was later on handed a 10s time penalty and by Mirko Torsellini (Ricciardo-Tm), who was eventually penalized a relegated to P19 due to the drop nose cone. The second place was therefore inherited by Leonardo Fuoco (CRG-Tm). Francesco Celenta (Parolin-Tm) had to retire due to an incident instead. The second heat was stopped due to rain at lap one. At the restart on wet tarmac, the victory went to Denis De Marco (Maranello-Tm) from Sirio Costantini (Intrepid-Tm) to Lorenzo Lapina. In the third heat Mollo proceeded Mazzali, Celenta, Longhi and Torsellini (fastest lap of the race) at the sprint to the flag.
In KF, Jacopo Gheno (Tony Kart-Vortex) was the quickest in qualifying from Adriano Albano (Tony Kart-Tm) to Stefano Cucco (Energy-Tm). The victory in the first heat was then taken by Albano from Cucco to Aldo Festante (Tony Kart-Tm), as Gheno was fourth. In the second heat, Cucco got the lead and won the race ahead of Albano and Pierluigi Lanza (Tony Kart-Tm).

In KF Junior, the quickest time in qualifying was posted by Davide Lombardo (Tony Kart-Vortex), who later on won both heats of the category. Lombardo took both wins leading the Russian Ivan Grigoriev (Kosmic-Vortex), while the third position was taken once by Lorenzo Colombo (Tony Kart-Lke) and once by Alessandro Giardelli (Tony Kart-Tm). Among the Sicilian drivers present here after the first round of Triscina, good placings for Alessandro Maiorana (Tony Kart-Tm) and Andrea Campagna (Lenzo-Lke).

In 60 Mini the two drivers of team Giugliano came to the fore in qualifying as Mattia Michelotto and Biagio Ruvolo on Energy-Parilla were split by only 81 thousands of a second. The victory of the first heat went to Federico Cecchi (Tony Kart-Tm) anyway, who was followed by Michelotto. In the second heat, Francesco Tripoli (Lenzo-Lke) proceeded Ruvolo and the reigning Italian champion Giuseppe Fusco (Tony Kart-Tm). The win of the third heat went to the Norwegian Dennis Hauger (CRG-Tm) from Ruvolo to Fusco.

Sunday 7 June. Second chance races from 9:55. Finals-1 from 10:55 and Finals-2 from 13:55.

RESULTS. All results will be available at

LIVE TIMING. Live Timing feed will be available from free practice of Friday 5 June at

LIVE TV COVERAGE ON AUTOMOTOTV. The Finals of the morning of Sunday 7 June will be shown live on AutoMotoTV (Sky 148) from 10.55. Afternoon finals will be available through Live Streaming.

LIVE STREAMING. All finals held on Sunday will be available through live streaming at and

TV SPECIALS. TV specials will be shown within the ACI Magazine on Nuvolari, Sportitalia, RTV San Marino, Safedrive/Odeon, Sky Sport 2, On RaceTV/Odeon and Gazzetta TV, alongside the specials programmed by more than 50 local channels covering the Italian territory. Schedules are available on

GAZZETTA DELLO SPORT. A special commentary page including pictures of the round of Sarno will be published on Thursday 11 June on Gazzetta dello Sport.

ACI Sport S.p.A.
Press Office

In the pictures: 1) Ciro Mollo KZ2; 2) Stefano Cucco KF; 3) Dennis Hauger 60 Mini.